info@dskvalaw.com
703-248-0626

Reckless Driving

Reckless Driving Lawyer

Reckless Driving

The lawyers at DSK|Law have decades of experience representing clients charged with Reckless Driving.  Reckless Driving is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $2500, and/or suspension of your driver’s license for up to 6 months. A conviction will result in six negative points on your Virginia license and may affect your insurance rates.  Points are assessed by the DMV and the judge is not able to reduce the number of points that you will receive. If you are convicted of Reckless Driving it will remain on your DMV history for 11 years and your criminal history for the rest of your life because it is a misdemeanor.  You should never plead guilty to Reckless Driving without consulting with an experienced attorney.

The judge or prosecutor may reduce Reckless Driving to Improper Driving (46.2-869) which is a traffic infraction and is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and will result in three negative points on your license. However, sometimes it is better to negotiate a reduction to speeding or other traffic infraction. The lawyers at DSK|Law work to achieve the best possible result for our clients through negotiation or trial.

Reckless Driving Examples

A Reckless Driving charge in Virginia can be confusing because it includes a range of driving behavior and is covered by 17 different laws discussed in Virginia Code Sections 46.2-852 through 46.2-869. The most common types are: Reckless Driving Generally (46.2-852) and exceeding the speed limit by 20 mph or exceeding 80 mph (46.2-862). Reckless Driving Generally is very broad and includes driving at a speed or in a way that endangers or disregards the life, limb, or property of another.

Other forms include: not maintaining proper control of a vehicle or faulty brakes (46.2-853), passing on or at the crest of a grade or curve (46.2-854), driving with an obstructed view or impaired control (46.2-855), passing two vehicles abreast (46.2-856), driving two abreast in a single lane (46.2-857), passing at a railroad crossing (46.2-858), passing a stopped school bus (46.2-859), failing to give proper signals (46.2-860), driving too fast for traffic or highway conditions (46.2-861), failure to yield right of way (46.2-863), and racing (46.2-865).